A Tall Woman reviews Yurbuds sport headphones

This post goes out to all the women standing in the headphone aisle googling reviews before taking the plunge on a new pair of headphones for exercise.

After one of my $30 Sony Around-the-Ear active sports headphones pulled apart with an exposed wire (I wasn’t thrilled with their performance anyway), I needed to get new headphones that wouldn’t break the bank and wouldn’t fall out during trail runs.I couldn’t afford $99+ headphones, and even my Sony pair felt a little pricey for what I was getting, so I was already skeptical about purchasing a new pair. Apple earbuds fall out of my ears, same with cheap earbuds that only have a flexible silicone circle. Other headphones that had wrap-arounds for ears either had reviews that said the wrap-around part hurt or fell off. I decided to take a chance on earbuds.

I bought Yurbuds Inspire 300 (for Women) Sport Earphones. Target had several different kinds for sale, some in colors that seemed to target men (black and red), and other colorful options “specifically designed for smaller ears.” I wondered: If these earbuds are designed for smaller ears, are they really meant for a 5’10.5″ tall woman? Should I get the black or red earbuds or can I get the aqua color I like? Which size is currently on display in this packaging? Will it fit in my ear?

I bought the more-expensive Inspire 300 because the box came with two different sizes of earbuds (the company calls them “enhancers”). This version also has a microphone. If I remember correctly (and different from what Yurbuds says in their sizing guide) the earbuds displayed on the headphones in the packaging were the smaller of the two sizes included in the package (size 4). The circumference of the smaller size enhancers is close to that of a dime (not that I advocate putting coins in your ear). Size 4 fit my ear snugly, and haven’t fallen out in my last two trail runs. At the store, I wasn’t sure if I should go for the cheaper pair (no mic) that only had one set of enhancers and now I know I could have. The larger size 5s in the box are too big to fit in my ears. I now wonder if the smaller size enhancers that came in the box are too large for short women with proportionally smaller ears.

So if you are a tall woman thinking about getting Yurbuds and wondering whether the Yurbuds “for smaller ears” will fit your ears, you might want to take a chance on the box with the two sets of earbuds — you’ll get both of the sizes they currently have for women.

Leave a comment